h1

Mastermind Game Idea

July 26, 2012

Game IdeaWhen I was a kid we played a game called Mastermind.  Basically one person makes up a code using colored plastic pegs and the other person tries to guess the code or pattern in a limited number of turns  by placing colored pegs on the board and learning if any of his or her guesses are correct.

I thought to try and make an electronic version using RFID tags instead of colored plastic pieces.

Making the game as I have in the drawing would need at least an Arduino Mega because of the 4 RGB LEDS.  I wonder if there is a way to multiplex, charlipex or somehow get the RGB LEDS to use less pins? (You need GND plus 3 PWM pins for each one)

I’m still thinking through how to make this and have gotten an Adafruit PN532 NFC/RFID Controller Shield.

So far I have 3 tags working.  Holding each tag over the tag area will light up a different LED and play a different tone.  We had seen the contact free jukebox a while back and liked the idea.

4 comments

  1. [...] Mastermind Game Idea « Electric Projects. When I was a kid we played a game called Mastermind.  Basically one person makes up a code using colored plastic pegs and the other person tries to guess the code or pattern in a limited number of turns  by placing colored pegs on the board and learning if any of his or her guesses are correct. [...]


  2. For controlling multiple RGB LEDs, I’ve had the same problem, so I’ve done some investigating.

    Adafruit has an I2C 16 channel PWM driver board (http://www.adafruit.com/products/815) which would be able to control 5 RGB LEDs. Unfortunately, the documentation for it isn’t up to the usual Adafruit standards yet. I was able to get it displaying colours on RGB LEDs, but not fading the colours smoothly.

    Alternatively, Sparkfun has individual I2C controlled RGB LEDs (https://www.sparkfun.com/products/8579), but I haven’t used them to be able to comment on them much.

    However, my solution was to have custom I2C RGB LED controller boards fabbed at oshpark.com, and will be sharing the design on my blog, once I receive and test them.


    • I did see the BlinkM LEDs, but at $12.95 a pop, they are kind of pricey. I was going to try the TLC 5940 chip from Sparkfun, but the Adafruit board looks nice too.


  3. [...] See my previous post Mastermind Game Idea. [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

