h1

Philips Magnavox VHS Player

February 13, 2012

Top I had an old VHS player and wanted to see if I could get any useful parts out of it for an upcoming project.

Specifically I wanted to see if I could get any plastic gears, or anything else that might be useful.

The player had not been plugged in for 2 or 3 years, but still I was careful not to touch any capacitors.  It came apart easily enough with mostly a phillips screwdriver.

I was able to get a fair number of parts including 3 small springs, 9 plastic gears, lots of screws,  2 rubber belts and a small motor.  I think this is the motor, a MXN13FB06A2,  that I have.  Hopefully I can use the gears in an upcoming project.

Update 2/19: I tested the motor by hooking it up to 5 volts from an Arduino and it works!

Leave a Reply

