h1

Arduino, TLC5940 & PN532 NFC/ RFID Shield

September 7, 2012
TLC5490

TLC5490

I’m finally getting somewhere with the Mastermind project.

I discovered that creating tones was effecting Pin 3 on the Deicimilia, which is used for the TLC5940, so I switched to using an Arduino Mega 2560. Of course the pins on a Mega are different from a Diecimilia, so I had to work that out too.

I created this little chart of what pins go where when from the TLC5940 to the Deicimilia & Mega 2560 I currently have.  Click on it to make it bigger.  Remeber you need to use the TLC5940 library with this.

The basic game play will be as follows.  Turn the game and and the LEDs light up in a particular pattern then they turn off.

The Arduino picks a random color for each of 4 LEDs.

You have a limited number of turns to guess this what color each LED is.  You select one color for each of the 4 LEDs per turn as your guess.  This is done buy selecting an RFID tag and waving it over the appropriate place.  Each tag will be labelled with a different color.

The game will tell you if you have any correct guesses and if any of them are in the correct place by lighting up the remaining LEDs as indicators.  Keep guessing until you get it right or run out of turns.

Of course I will need to make a nice case for it, probably out of an old cigar box, and still need to add an LCD screen.  Currently instructions and game play is being printed to the serial monitor.

See my previous post Mastermind Game Idea.

Also see the  Arduino Playground TLC5940 post and more helpful TLC5940 advice from tronixstuff.

3 comments

  1. Reblogged this on Gigable – Tech Blog.


  2. Awesome. I will have to get my hands on one of those RFID shields. You inspired me to use it on my arduino automated bartender project. Check it out: http://www.theliquorator.wordpress.com


    • Good luck with your awesome project.



Leave a Reply

