h1

Clock

February 15, 2015

Wanting a clock for my work area, I made one using a ChronoDot RTC , or real time clock, and a 7 segment display.  I had the box custom 3d printed on Makexyz.com.  The lid slides off, out the back.

I used an old Arduino Deumilanove because I will need to change the time for daylight savings and want an easy way to do that.  If I had used one of my stand alone Arduinos, that would mean removing the chip and putting in another Arduino and then updating the time from the computer.  This way I can just connect the clock to the computer without the need to remove the chip.

I also added a light sensor to automatically adjust the brightness of the display.

Leave a Reply

